The Microbiome Awards provides young, extraordinary scientists with funding and recognition to carry out scientific work in the field of Microbiome research.

QIAGEN, the main sponsor of the award, is generously donating a prize package valued at over US$100,000 for the 2018 Microbiome Awards. This year's awards will be open to scientists who received their PhD in 2008 or later and will also include a new category for PhD students. Applications will be accepted May 1 - August 31, 2018. The winners will be announced October 17, 2018.


Congratulations to our 2018 winners!

See the Press Release

Grand Prize Winner


PhD Student Winner

Dr. Hannah Wardill


Marsha Wibowo

The University of Adelaide and The University Medical Centre Groningen

Interview with Dr. Wardill


Harvard Medical School

Interview with Ms. Wibowo